Party Going

Author(s): Henry Green; Amit Chaudhuri (Introduction by)

Fiction

A modernist "masterpiece" (The New York Times) that will appeal to fans of Downton Abbey and The Great Gatsby

Party Going
, published in 1939, is Henry Green's darkly comic valediction to what W. H. Auden famously described as the "low dishonest decade" of the 1930s. London is sunk in an impenetrable fog. Traffic has come to a halt. Stranded in the train station and the hotel connected to it are a group of bright young things waiting to catch a train to the Continent, where their enormously rich friend Max is throwing a party. Green's characters worry and wonder and wander in and out of each other's company (and arms and beds), in pursuit of and pursued by their own secrets and desires.


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781681370705
  • : New York Review of Books, Incorporated, The
  • : NYRB Classics
  • : April 2017
  • : .4 Inches X 5 Inches X 8 Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Henry Green; Amit Chaudhuri (Introduction by)
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 823/.9/12
  • : 192