The Sound of One Hand Clapping

Author(s): Richard Flanagan


From the winner of the Man Booker Prize. One of the most-loved and biggest-selling literary novels in Australian history. In the winter of 1954, in a construction camp in the remote Tasmanian highlands, when Sonja Buloh was three years old and her father was drinking too much, Sonja's mother walked into a blizzard never to return. Some thirty-five years later, when Sonja visits Tasmania and her drunkard father, the shadows of the past begin to intrude ever more forcefully into the present - changing for ever his living death and her ordered life...The Sound Of One Hand Clapping is about the underbelly of Australia, the barbarism of Europe, and the destiny of those in the country beyond hope who seek to redeem themselves through love. 'Heart-wrenching and beautifully written...A rare and remarkable achievement' -- Los Angeles Times


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Richard Flanagan was born in Longford, Tasmania, in 1961. His books include Death of a River Guide, The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Gould's Book of Fish, The Unknown Terrorist and Wanting. He directed a feature film version of The Sound of One Hand Clapping. His journalism appears in various publications, including the New Yorker, Le Monde, S ddeutsche Zeitung, and la Repubblica. The Narrow Road to the Deep North won the 2014 Man Booker Prize and the 2014 Indie Book of the Year Award.

General Fields

  • : 9780857989208
  • : Random House Australia
  • : Vintage (Australia)
  • : March 2015
  • : 19.70 cmmm X 12.80 cmmm X 3.20 cmmm
  • : Australia
  • : June 2015
  • : March 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Richard Flanagan
  • : Paperback
  • : 615
  • : en
  • : 823
  • : 448