After Nature

Author(s): W.G. Sebald


Three men walk the pages of W. G. Sebald's first literary work - the painter Mathaeus Grunewald, the botanist Georg Wilhelm Steller and W. G. Sebald himself. Written as a long poem in three parts, After Nature delves into each of these lives in turn, teasing out the haunting uncertainties of the past and revealing the terrible burden that history places on all of our shoulders. Available for the first time in English, After Nature lays the foundation for Sebald's later works, exploring the themes that would come to dominate his writing.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

'A deeply intelligent book, but also a marvellously warm and intelligent one' Andrew Motion

W.G. Sebald was born in Germany in 1944 and died in December 2001. Until his death he was Professor of European Literature at the University of East Anglia. He is the author of four works of fiction: THE EMIGRANTS, THE RINGS OF SATURN, VERTIGO andAUSTERLITZ. Hamish Hamilton is publishing ON THE NATURAL HISTORY OF DESTRUCTION in February 2003.

General Fields

  • : 9780141003368
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : 0.124
  • : June 2003
  • : 198mm X 130mm X 10mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : W.G. Sebald
  • : Paperback
  • : 831.914
  • : 128