Selected Poems - Thea Astley

Author(s): Cheryl Taylor (Editor)


This exciting collection by Australian literary legend Thea Astley brings together for the first time many poems that have never been seen or published.Winning multiple prizes for her fiction, including four Miles Franklin Awards, Astley?s earliest ambition was to write poetry. It remained her private passion throughout her student days and into adulthood. These surprising and satisfying poems chart her development as a writer, evoking wartime Brisbane, the natural landscape and small-town life.

Product Information

Cheryl Taylor (Editor) lectured in literature at James Cook University in Townsville before retiring as an Associate Professor in 2006. Since 2008 she has been a casual lecturer in the School of Humanities at Griffith University. She has edited books and published articles on Middle English, Medieval Latin, and Australian literature, and in 2005-2012 oversaw the building of the AustLit subset, Writing the Tropical North. Research for the present selection of Thea Astley's poetry was carried out during her 2010 tenure as Fryer Library Fellow at The University of Queensland. Australian writer Thea Astley (1925-2004) published seventeen novels and more than a dozen free-standing short stories. She studied arts at The University of Queensland and held a position as Fellow in Australian Literature at Macquarie University until 1980, when she retired to write full time. In 1989 she was granted an honorary doctorate of letters from The University of Queensland. Astley lived and wrote on the New South Wales south coast until her death in 2004. Astley won the Miles Franklin Award four times - in 1962 for The Well Dressed Explorer, in 1965 for The Slow Natives, in 1972 for The Acolyte and in 2000 for Drylands. In 1989 she won the Patrick White Award. Other awards include the 1975 Age Book of the Year Award for A Kindness Cup, the 1980 Australian Literature Studies (ALS) Award for Hunting the Wild Pineapple, the 1986 ALS Gold Medal for Beachmasters, the 1988 Steele Rudd Award for It's Raining in Mango, the 1990 NSW Premier's Prize for Reaching Tin River, and the 1996 Age Book of the Year Award and the FAW Award for The Multiple Effects of Rainshadow.

General Fields

  • : 9780702259791
  • : University of Queensland Press
  • : University of Queensland Press
  • : 0.17
  • : July 2017
  • : 196mm X 128mm X 16mm
  • : Australia
  • : July 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Cheryl Taylor (Editor)
  • : Paperback
  • : 717
  • : English
  • : 821
  • : 176