The Complete Poems

Author(s): Emily Dickinson


Emily Dickinson proved that brevity can be beautiful. Only now is her complete oeuvre,  all 1,775 poems, available in its original form, uncorrupted by editorial revision, in one volume. Thomas H. Johnson, a longtime Dickinson scholar, arranged the poems in chronological order as far as could be ascertained (the dates for more than 100 are unknown). This organization allows a wide-angle view of Dickinson's poetic development, from the sometimes-clunky rhyme schemes of her juvenilia, including valentines she wrote in the early 1850s, to the gloomy, hell-obsessed writings from her last years. Quite a difference from requisite Dickinson entries in literary anthologies: "There's a Certain Slant of Light", "Wild Nights--Wild Nights!" and "I taste a liquor never brewed." Johnson, has presented the poems in their original texts; and where alternate readings were suggested, he has chosen only those which the poet evidently preferred. His introduction includes a brief explanation of his selection of texts as well as an outline of Emily Dickinson's career.  


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

This Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson, edited by Thomas H. Johnson, is the definitive collection of one of America's most influential and well-loved poets.

Emily Dickinson (1830-86) was born in Amherst, Massachussetts, where she lived most of her life as a recluse, seldom leaving the house or receiving visitors. She published just a handful of poems in her lifetime, her first collection appearing posthumously in 1890.

General Fields

  • : 9780571108640
  • : Faber & Faber
  • : Faber & Faber
  • : January 1976
  • : 220mm X 140mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Emily Dickinson
  • : Paperback
  • : New edition
  • : English
  • : 811.4
  • : very good
  • : 770
  • : index